Ortelius Ship Reviews

Reviews from Swoop customers who have travelled aboard the Ortelius over the last five seasons.

Nancy Stagner  - USA Travelled: January 2018

10

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Loved the trip. Weather was good the first four days after arrival. We personally loved Iceberg Alley. Wildlife was great. A big surprise was that 65% of the travelers were a French group. Although they were often separated from the English speaking group with their own interpreters in the sessions where both languages had to be presented it became a problem because the French passengers continually talked through the English speaking portion and we needed to listen to the French. I was under the impression that if the trip was advertised as English speaking that is all it would be. It did not take long before we realized that the French group did not feel they had to obey staff instructions - particularly staying behind certain boundaries while waiting for zodiacs on shore, waiting in lines for eating,stairs,and boarding zodiacs from ship, etc. Some of the guides had difficulties with the group getting too close to penguins and not staying within the red poles while walking. Even boarding the buses to the airport presented problems with the drivers because of how the French guides wanted them to board, etc. and had to spend their time trying to sort things out. It was a distraction that did not have to happen. The ship operator's Staff and guides were top notch. Very calm, capable and knowledgeable.

...read more

Jens Busche  - Germany Travelled: February 2019

9

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Highlights: 7 species of penguins, wale watching, information given in the lectures, food on board. The people were nice and many charing also pictures and videos. The weather surprised us with lots of sunshine and one hurricane - the Drake was calm and smooth. A magical moment was a wale appearing right next to the zodiac and staying a while to be filmed.

...read more

Marilyn Fisher (2nd trip)  - Argentina Travelled: November 2017

10

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Overall, the trip was great - the staff, the other passengers, the activities I participated in, the food, the overall quality of every detail. I loved kayaking, but the camping was cancelled due to bad weather. Also this voyage we visited Port Lockroy and could see the history of humans on Antarctica. The surprise was passing through the Drake in a hurricane.

...read more

Shawn Faessler  - USA Travelled: November 2017

9

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

The highlight was mountain climbing in a snowstorm. Meeting a lot of interesting and accomplished people was the surprising part of the trip. I was shocked at how bad the seasickness was. I normally do well on boats, but I did get sick. I received adequate warning to prepare, but it was still shocking.

...read more

Brett  - USA Travelled: March 2018

8

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

The landscapes and wildlife were spectacular. After awhile you almost stop taking pictures of whales because you have so many. The other passengers were diverse, adventurous and many will hopefully be friends for life. It was a bummer the weather made us head north a day early, but no worries.

...read more

Sabine  - Austria Travelled: December 2019

10

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Seeing whales really close while zodiac cruising

...read more

Carolyne Hadley  - Canada Travelled: November 2017

1

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Overall there were lots of disappointing moments got to do only 1 of the things i wanted to do...(polar plunge) Saw tons of gentoo penguins very little if any of much else people were nice...much younger crowd than i expected boat was ok, food was good, staff good.

...read more

Connie Parkinson  - New Zealand Travelled: December 2018

9

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

Kayaking with humpback-whales, breaching, spouting - and only a few meters away was probably the highlight Meeting lots and lots of penguins - and seeing them come pretty close to you, when you sat down quietly - was also fantastic The ship's crew - both staff and guides - were amazing and there were some great fellow travelers too

...read more

Rebecca  - Guatemala Travelled: November 2018

9

Customer Rating On return from their adventure we ask customers: “On a scale of 0-10, with 10 being the highest, how likely is it that you would recommend Swoop to a friend or colleague?”

I was in a vessel with 50 other young women, which is rare and it was incredible! Lots of new friendships. The whole staff and crew of Ortelius was phenomenal! The landscape is incredible, not possible to take a bad picture, and loads of pinguins!

...read more